Science Teacher Amy Gunderman Receives National Recognition

COLUMBUS, Ohio — January 16, 2014 — The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all, in collaboration with The Dow Chemical Company; Lockheed Martin; the American Honda Foundation; and the Bayer USA Foundation, today announced that 12 out of the 200 science teachers chosen as Fellows in the 2013-2014 NSTA New Science Teacher Academy are from Ohio. Selected from more than a thousand applications nationwide, the Fellows (listed below) will participate in a host of science-related activities and professional learning opportunities designed to help promote quality science teaching, enhance teacher confidence and classroom excellence and improve teacher content knowledge. The Fellows were selected on the basis of several criteria, including showing evidence of a solid science background and displaying a strong interest in growing as a professional science educator. Each Fellow will receive a comprehensive NSTA membership package, online mentoring with trained mentors who teach in the same discipline, and the opportunity to participate in a variety of web-based professional development activities, including web seminars. In addition, each Fellow will receive financial support to attend and participate in NSTA’s 2014 National Conference on Science Education in Boston.

Back to School News      Print News Article